Brief History of the School of Business and Economics (SBE)

The school of Business and Economics began as a degree program of Bachelor of Arts in Technology and Management Studies (TMS) in the Faculty of Social Cultural and Development studies in the department of Economics in 1990. An idea of a new faculty of Business and Management was discussed and agreed on in 2000. It was during this time that the founder of the School of Business and Economics, the late Professor Henry K. Maritim left Department of Agricultural Marketing and Cooperatives and joined the Faculty of Social Cultural and Development. Professor Maritim later started the Faculty of Business Management in 2002. The faculty initially had three departments namely; Management Science, Accounting and Finance, while the department of Marketing and Logistics was created from the department of Management Science.

Restructuring was done in 2005 and departments were merged. The departments of Marketing and Management science were merged and the departments of Tourism and Tour operations management were also merged. During that period the departments of Economics and Agricultural Economics were merged and put under the School of Business and Economics. Currently, the School of Business and Economics has five departments namely: Accounting and Finance, Marketing & Logistics, Management Science, Economics and Agricultural Resource Management. There has also been a phenomenal growth in students and staff. In 2000 the school had approximately 80 students and 8 academic staff members but today the school has over 9066 students and over 100 academic staff members. The student population in the 2010/11 academic year per year of study in all our programs is shown in the table below:

The SBE has continued to register progress in all fields. The school of Business and Economics has a number of international students. This group of students is expected to increase spontaneously in the next few months as the school is in its final stages in development of Open and Distance Learning (ODL) modules. The demand for ODL is expected to attract both local and international students. ODL is expected to increase access to education by those who because of many reasons such as time and location constraints have not been able to in the past. The table below is a summary of international student population both at graduate and undergraduate levels.

There are three divisions in the school namely; Business Studies, Service Management, and Economics. The division of Business Studies comprises of Accounting and Finance, Marketing & Logistics, Management Science and Human Resource Management departments. The Division of Economics comprises of Economics and Agricultural Economics & Resource Management departments. In addition, the school runs a key center namely the Center for Research and Enterprise Development.

The reason for the growth in our student numbers is that the SBE meets the challenge of producing quality graduates by being at the cutting edge of the most current education and training methods in the world of business. These methods include: problem-based learning, modular teaching approach, group discussion methods, teamwork learning, programming and simulation methods. In addition, industrial attachment and field courses are emphasized because they facilitate the production of graduates that are academically qualified and practically oriented. The school is highly competitive and attracts excellent students from across Kenya and internationally. Its academic staff and students reflect a broad cross-section of disciplines and backgrounds. In addition, it provides an environment in which employed and experienced students infuse the learning process at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels with a stimulating balance between theory and practice. Additionally there is diversity of programs and production of high quality graduates by the school. The main office of the Dean of the school is at Eldoret West Campus. Other offices are at Main Campus and Town Campus (Eldoret Hospice and Kiptagich House). Information concerning the school can be obtained in all Moi University Satellite Campuses such as Nairobi Campus, Coast Campus, Kericho Town Campus, Odera Akang’o – Yala Campus and Kitale Campus.

Key Milestones

1990 Program under Faculty of Social Cultural and Development
2000 Founding of the School of Business and Economics

Log in

fb iconLog in with Facebook